This Website and the Sub Sites attached to it use cookies. For details please click here. By continuing to use this Website or any Sub Sites, you are consenting to the use of these cookies. You can switch off cookies at any time using your browser settings but if you do, this may affect your user experience.
Please wait...
Welcome To Bedfordshire County Cricket Club


It's a great pleasure to welcome you to the official website of Bedfordshire County Cricket Club. On this site we will try to keep you in touch with all the news from the club. That will include regular match reports during the summer.

The 2013 season proved to be another disappointing one for the county with a bottom but one finish in the Minor Counties Championship and an early exit from the one-day competition, but confidence is high that things are about to improve.

Once again though, a new captain has had to be appointed following changes in circumstances for James Hewitt who has taken over as cricket coach at Haberdashers Aske School and also joined the Middlesex coaching staff. The good news is that he still hopes to be available for most of the Championship games.

The committee has chosen Andy Reynoldson to lead the side and is confident that he will do a fine job of captaining what is sure to be a young team. Andy has played for the county for several seasons now and as well as being a consistent run-getter he has developed into a useful left-arm spinner.

For those of you who don't know, the Minor Counties Championship is split into two divisions of east and west with the winners of each playing off in September. Bedfordshire play in the eastern group with Buckinghamshire, Cambridgeshire, Cumberland, Hertfordshire, Lincolnshire, Norfolk, Northumberland, Staffordshire and Suffolk.

Because of cost and insufficient time each county plays only six games, which means that each season you do not play three counties in your division on a rota basis, Obviously this is unsatisfactory, but no solution is apparent to anyone.

There is also a one-day competition in which you can be drawn against a county from either division.  In the 2014 season we have been grouped with Hertfordshire, Norfolk, Suffolk and Cambridgeshire. The first two in the group go through to the quarter finals of the competition.

Both competitions have been rebranded this season with Unicorns now being the official name for the Minor Counties. It is hoped that this will lead to increased national coverage and encourage sponsorship.

Bedfordshire have won the Minor Counties Championship twice - in 1970 and 1972. We shared the title in 2004 after a rain-affected final against Devon. We won the eastern group in 1997 but were beaten in the play-off by Devon.

Bedfordshire won the one-day tournament in 1999, beating Cumberland by eight wickets in the final at Lord's, and also reached the final in 1983 and 1996, losing on both occasions to Cheshire.

Bedfordshire are proud of the fact that three players who represented the county when they were aged 16 were chosen to tour Australia with England this winter - skipper Alastair Cook, Graeme Swann and Monty Panesar.

We do of course rely heavily for financial support on members. If you are not currently a member, I hope the interest you have shown in viewing this website will prompt you to join.

Fixtures this season are:

Unicorns one-day Trophy

May 4 - Norfolk at Dunstable

May 11 - Suffolk at Bury St Edmunds

May 18 - Hertfordshire at Cople

May 25 - Cambridgeshire at March


Unicorns Championship

June 8-10 - Suffolk at Wardown Park, Luton

July 6-8 - Cumberland at Furness

July 20-22 - Cambridgeshire at Bedford Modern School

July 27-29 - Norfolk at Norwich

August 3-5 - Staffordshire at Longton

August 17-19 Lincolnshire at Ampthill

May 25 - Cambridgeshire at March

Friendly T20

Friday 20th June vs. Hertfordshire CCC 5.30 at Flitwick CC